Soon to be released second edition of rapt in awe

I don’t believe in God in the traditional sense. Unless, of course, it suits my needs in the moment, calming my neurosis.  The whole idea of an almighty guy in the sky just doesn’t work for me, but sometimes I find it highly convenient to defer responsibility to some higher power. That said, as each day unfolds I find more evidence of some cosmic intelligence interacting with matter, minds, and memes. I don’t believe in science either unless, of course, it suits my momentary impulse to try to make an intelligent point. What I do believe in though, is the ability of people to use what works to bring about positive outcomes – the utility of adaptation. I believe in the nimble agility of consciousness to express it’s self through anyone and everyone so that better ideas can emerge and evolve and make the world a better place. Hence worldbliss. I breathe deeply – and repeat as a bridge between moments. I practice overcoming the cynical scientific self when it tells me that God is dead and we are all doomed, and let possibilities unfold around me holding hope for a more peaceful future.

Perhaps my adaptive tendency to embrace contradictions leads me see climate change as a profound opportunity. In the forthcoming second edition of rapt in awe my book about evolving consciousness and collective transformation, I have dedicated a chapter to this theme. Climate Change as a Collective Opportunity invites dialogue on the idea that this issue is ripe for some sort of unified global action. I believe that seeing the good within a rather bleak state of affairs will help usher in the positive. There will be a free copy of rapt in awe to download online as well as fancier print and e-book editions in the next couple of months.

My reflections on God and science have been catalyzed by a workshop that I just attended for of new software product and process called ThoughtStream. It is based on research on collective intelligence, popularized by the recent book The Wisdom of Crowds by James Surowiecki, and I am excited to use this as a tool for community engagement for Climate Action. I am moderating an event for the Climate Action Secretariat in Terrace, BC on Thursday October 21, 2010 and am excited to see how collective intelligence can create adaptation strategies for the Skeena Region.

Diagram from rapt n awe

What I do believe in is the capacity of people to overcome the perceived barriers that divide them. Things like God, scientific data, political convictions, and other values and beliefs that can impede collaborative action. Thankfully, the heat is on us to sort things out.  Collective intelligence continues to demonstrate that we are smarter as a whole than we are as individuals. It is as though the science of consciousness is conspiring with God to support unity and transformation. I’m willing to believe if it helps. Breathe deeply and repeat.

