“The most beautiful thing we can experience is the mysterious. It is the source of all art and science. He to whom this emotion is a stranger, who can no longer pause to wonder and stand rapt in awe, is as good as dead.”- Albert Einstein

We are still here and the world did not end. The apocalyptic predictions of Evangelical preacher Harold Camping that the world would end on May 21, 2011 have proved false. The day has come and gone with no bang and no whimper but plenty of social media buzz. I have to admit that when I heard of Camping’s claim, I was skeptical. I made no special precautions, no altered plans, no final gestures. I simply treated May 21, 2011 as any other day. I told my wife and kids that I loved them. I took moments in my day to feel this love to stand rapt in awe.

As the author of the book titled rapt in awe, inspired by the Einstein quote above, I have been pondering the branding that the word Rapture now holds in popular association. I have experienced a sense of rapture in transcending doomsday fears and the tannin taste of long steeped skepticism. To me, rapture infers the beauty and joy that is alive in each moment lingering between breaths inspiring visions of better days to come. I have written a book about how the sum total of human consciousness weighs in on our evolving reality and used the root of rapture (rapt) in the title.

I believe that blissful days await rather than doomsday.  Apocalyptic visions simply reinforce antiquated ideas of power gods dominating the universe rather than a living breathing being evolving into greater orders of complexity and coherence. Very simply, I believe that The Rapture is every moment of every day being in love with the life that we have and rejoicing in the simple wonders between breaths. I would like to hereby Rebrand The Rapture.

